Shadow

index

Summers are crazy in our part of the world, and can be intolerable. Last weekend with no option, I was driving in my two wheeler at noon day while the sun was scorching. While driving I just realized when I’m under the shadow of a huge tree it was like a huge blessing to get rid of the blazing sun .. Its just for about a few seconds but just being under the tree in its shadow was pleasant despite the surrounding heat!

While I realized that, my mind immediately turned to Psalms 91… Psalmist beautifully describes how much protection there is in the SHADOW of the ALMIGHTY! I’ve been going through a lot of humiliation and distress in my life. As the verses say, people can many times hurt us, trap us, and try to destroy our peace in many many ways. Day in and day out we face people who will despise us, mock us may be. But no arrow can touch us if ONLY if we are abiding in the shadow of the almighty..

The road ahead poses many many challenges, but God is faithful and he can be our shield (Psalm 91:4). How much it blesses me to know that God can be my shield though the world around me swings their fierce arrows against me? We should just remember one thing – when we do not have peace, the probable reason is because we arent under the shadow. This is something we need to introspect every time we go through restlessness, anxiety, frustrations etc!

David’s thoughts in this chapter are amazingly well structured – He begins by addressing all those who take shelter in the Most High God (Verses 1-2). He moves on to talk about what all God can do to us when we abide in him (Verses 3-13), infact this also gives us a picture that we will face trials and hardships!

The chapter in the end (verses 14-16) talks about the blessings we receive despite our trials. We are promised with protection, honor and Salvation! Isn’t is so beautiful to abide in his SHADOW!

Psalm 91

Assurance of God’s Protection

You who live in the shelter of the Most High,
    who abide in the shadow of the Almighty,
will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress;
    my God, in whom I trust.”
For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler
    and from the deadly pestilence;
he will cover you with his pinions,
    and under his wings you will find refuge;
    his faithfulness is a shield and buckler.
You will not fear the terror of the night,
    or the arrow that flies by day,
or the pestilence that stalks in darkness,
    or the destruction that wastes at noonday.

A thousand may fall at your side,
    ten thousand at your right hand,
    but it will not come near you.
You will only look with your eyes
    and see the punishment of the wicked.

Because you have made the Lord your refuge,
    the Most High your dwelling place,
10 no evil shall befall you,
    no scourge come near your tent.

11 For he will command his angels concerning you
    to guard you in all your ways.
12 On their hands they will bear you up,
    so that you will not dash your foot against a stone.
13 You will tread on the lion and the adder,
    the young lion and the serpent you will trample under foot.

14 Those who love me, I will deliver;
    I will protect those who know my name.
15 When they call to me, I will answer them;
    I will be with them in trouble,
    I will rescue them and honor them.
16 With long life I will satisfy them,
    and show them my salvation.

2 thoughts on “Shadow

Add yours

Your Thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

