Broken Cisterns!

Summers in India are very hot, typical of any tropical country. My husband planned a nice vacation for us – which was a combination of hot Chennai, cool hills (Yelagiri and Yercaud), Hot Vellore, lots of  relatives, a cousins wedding and a challenging health situation for my hubby.

Vacation ended and we were back home anticipating that the hot summer will be gone and monsoons would grace us. Unfortunately we haven’t had any rains, and the worst implication for us personally was that our ground water at our residence has dried up:(

Its been over a week now, we are storing water each day for our daily usage. And this makes lives really really difficult especially for a busy working mom with an urban lifestyle. The experience I am having with no running water, storing water which gets emptied faster than the time taken to fill them up is not so good:(:(! Probably if there is no rain I will get used to this mode of living, where I store water and use them sparingly.

Two days while using water sparingly and efficiently I was reminded of a sermon I heard on Good Friday this year based on the verse in Jeremiah 2:13

For My people have committed two evils:
    they have forsaken me,
the fountain of living waters,
    and hewed out cisterns for themselves,
broken cisterns,
    that can hold no water

Isn’t it true about our busy lifestyles – our money, our fame, our power, our entertainment infact even our relationships are never sufficient?? No matter how much more we earn it is never sufficient, no matter how much we spend time on our passions its not enough, no matter how much we succeed we aspire for more. We are never content because all of them are broken cisterns, and we like the Israelites have done the same . Firstly in our busy lives have forgotten the fountain of living waters, and secondly are running after broken cisterns!

I had a good time, introspecting my life, outlining some goals for myself and one for sure was to spend time in the word of God and prayer – To give Time, First time and Early time! I’ve been failing but I’m trying to run to the fountain of living water and not keep sweating trying to fill my broken cisterns!

God Bless 🙂

2 thoughts on “Broken Cisterns!

Add yours

  1. Very good introspection we should all have, Vinodhini. My family gives financially to help children have clean water and other things in other less fortunate countries than ours. Knowing that people walk miles and miles in hot weather and rough terrain just for what amounts to a day’s worth of water – and then the same journey back home – keeps my heart in check. And my mind. Even when our financial situation is not so good, I remember how much more we have then many on earth. It all breaks my heart. I pray for you and your family to see relief.

  2. Oh yes dear Heather, its really sad to see people struggling for even basic needs. Good to know your supporting children in need 🙂 Thank you for your prayers dear Heather. I’m hopeful you’re feeling better 🙂

    Lots of Love
    Vinodhini

Your Thoughts

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

