Right in the Box!

thinkinginsidethebox
Courtesy: Google

The beginning of every new month is filled with activities of all sorts to keep my goals going. As the month of May 2016 was nearing its end, I was unusually excited about cleaning my to-do lists and plan for a better month.

I had one concern, my weight was increasing uninterrupted and that was weighing on my heart. On 31st May 2016, I pulled up courage to walk up to a nearby gym and talk to the gym owner and the instructor. I told them my endless list of complaints with my growing waist size to the unhealthy, lethargic feeling I had about my lifestyle. They were happy to have a new customer, very confidently I told them I will be there at sharp 5:30 am the next day.

I realized at around 9:30 PM, that I dint have any shoes for the gym and took my two wheeler and ripped past the roads to find any shop open and to my disappointment there were none of the branded stores open. I dint give up, in a local store I found some reasonably comfortable shoes and decided to give it a try.

I was excited

I was determined

I prayed

The next morning, I woke up to the sound of my phone ringing loudly and it was my transport team calling me for my cab!

Sigh!

It was 7:05 am when I received the call, and I was sitting right inside the cab at 7:15 almost about to doze off for another hour before I reach my work spot.

Annoyed and irritated about myself, seeing my determination disintegrate into nothing but a failed dream I kept silent not wanting to even think about any damn thing but just be left alone.

When the anger inside of me cooled down, thoughts ravaged my little complex mind. I know I desire to have a healthy lifestyle but I am closed inside of a box. One side of it pictured my two little children who needed my attention, the other side reflected my happy family times, the top of the box was filled with passions of many kinds, the bottom was filled with a 12 hour job to pay my bills!

Inside this box of mine, I hardly get 6-7 hours of sleep and I certainly cannot afford to loose out on rest. It is an absolute non-negotiable!!! Sadly I was trying to defy an absolute by trying to get up early and force myself into a gym regime.

Subsequently, my little machine dint stop thinking… And a couple of distressed discussions with my better half got myself thinking within the box.

This is what Gym means to me now-

  1. Walking for 10 mins ANYTIME of the day whenever I get time.
  2. As much as possible ditch the elevator and take the steps (Oh I can save electricity as well 🙂 )
  3. Take Hannah down for feeding her dinner and run after her (Stop pressurizing my mom and maid to feed her, giving the excuse of my long hours at work)
  4. A 1o minute youtube exercise with my daughter Jessica WHENEVER I get time (https://youtu.be/aKFVZu_4Lq4)

Inside or out side the box, clear priorities and a little discretion to differentiate a NEGOTIABLE from a NON-NEGOTIABLE can be a panacea for our complex issues!

A lot can be messed by altering the non-negotiable and clinging hard on the negotiable!

Know the difference!

I love the Serenity Prayer, reciting it for years yet its need remains for ever!

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

Courage to change the things I can,

And wisdom to know the difference.

Your Thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

